Dream Dancer

26 Mar

I’m sitting here watching Phantom Gourmet, procrastinating just a little on getting motivated (okay, it’s 11am, so what!) and this seemed like a good time to run my mouth off in a blog post.

Anyway, I come before you today to talk about dreams. I’ve been having pretty vivid and interesting dreams all week, ranging from a trip to my family’s cottage in New Hampshire to a Pulp Fiction-esque nocturnal reverie (I blame this week’s episode of Community for that one). Last night, though, I had a lovely ballet dream. These are more and more frequent as my obsession — I mean passion! — grows.

In my dreams, I can developpé à la seconde up to my ear, hold my balance en pointe, hold my arabesque, pirouette (doubles! triples! en pointe!) … in my dreams, I am about 200% more talented and flexible than I am in my waking hours.

The first few times I had dreams such as these, I woke up disappointed with my self and with my limitations. Now I relish in these dreams! They inspire me, they motivate me, they drive me to be the dancer I am in my subconscious. At my age, I may never be that dancer, but the dreams push me to be better than I am now and that push is everything.

I’m stubborn, I’m a perfectionist… sometimes it feels as though I won’t rest until I get something right. Until then, I’ll always have these dreams. If my brain can do it, sooner or later my body will, too. Right?

2 Responses to “Dream Dancer”

  1. Johanna April 9, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    I have been sharing your dreams! Pirouettes that go on and on, turning effortlessly.. Jumps that fly across the stage, legs that stretch like rubber.. These dreams are so outrageous, I know they will never come true in awake life. But maybe my (and your) brain is telling us something anyway?

    Dreaming about that perfect moment in dance is half the fun!

  2. 4dancers June 11, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    Fascinating! I have in all my years, never ever had a dance dream before! As a matter-of-fact, I never thought about it in terms of that!
    Nice blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

